Soulful Architecture: Jude Collection AW 2017

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude Flagship Store Window Display Fitzroy

I recently attended the launch of the JUDE autumn winter 2017 collection ‘Soulful Architecture’ designed by Jude Ng and manufactured locally in Melbourne.

If you love well made clothes which are stylish, edgy, ageless, unisex, comfortable and versatile (like I do), then this clothing and accessories label is for you. I discovered Jude’s unique designs by accident a few years ago during a visit to the Queen Victoria Winter Night Market (I was looking for dinner, but saw his stall from the corner of my eye), and it was as if he read my imaginary wish list and designed what I wanted to wear! I’m pretty sure I squealed with delight (but not too loud!) when I was looking through the designs, and I’ve been a fan ever since.

If you’re not familiar with this label, why don’t you have a read about the JUDE flagship store opening by Claire Goldworthy of the Fashion Advocate and what Time Out magazine says about the boutique to find out more? JUDE is also one of the emerging Australian fashion labels supported by CTF curated (an initiative of the Council of Textile & Fashion).

Since I’ve discovered this label, I look forward to seeing each new collection with the change in seasons. Many of the pieces are trans-seasonal, and are so versatile they can be worn throughout most of the year (like the Zetta tunic dress I wore in my previous post). More layers can be added as the temperatures drop. As the designs aren’t trend driven, I’ve easily been mixing and matching pieces from different collections, to maximise the wears for each item whilst injecting a fresh look into my outfits. I was excited to see which new styles I could work into my existing wardrobe.

Do you like to style your outfit with layers to add interest?

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

The launch was hosted at the JUDE flagship store in Fitzroy on a Friday evening. Guests arrived (many of them like myself, after a hard week of work) to be greeted by refreshments and a DJ spinning sweet tunes, which was a such relaxing way to start the weekend!

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

We could view the photographic exhibition of the editorial shoot of this collection which was photographed by conceptual photographer Elisenda Russell. The walls of the store displayed beautiful images of the models styled in (predominantly unisex) pieces from the new range, up against a magnificent backdrop of the buildings and grounds of the Abbotsford Convent.

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

We also had a chance to also see the different pieces from the new collection in person in the different colourways, try them on for size and be styled by the designer himself, or by the other stylists in-store (all in a low pressure environment!).

I find this very helpful, as putting together a stylish outfit takes practise (it doesn’t come so easily to all of us). In my opinion, one of the best ways to improve my own styling skills is to learn from those who work in the industry, to gain additional tips on how to dress for my body shape and colouring, so I can feel great in an outfit. It’s also a great way to experiment with style and challenge myself, especially if I’m in a style rut (and who doesn’t want to change things up every so often?).

Do you ask for styling advice when you consider purchasing a new item for your wardrobe?

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

This collection consists of a neutral colour palette of blacks (of course, it’s Melbourne!), greys, and other muted tones of browns and greens. I could feel the intent of this collection through the fabric choices, shapes and draping of the pieces which are structured yet comfortable, and colours which reflect an urban landscape full of texture.

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

There were also many accessories on offer, like soft fabric neck pieces and scarves which can be casually draped in a number of ways to add that extra warmth and texture to an outfit, as well as leather and suede necklaces, earrings, cuffs, clutches and pouches all made on-site in the studio (many one-offs) to add that finishing touch to an outfit.

I had a great time perusing the new collection, trying on some interesting pieces, and styling them in different ways. I bought myself a new outfit (including accessories) which could all be worn together (in several layers), and also worn with other existing items in my wardrobe (win, win!). Plus, I didn’t even need any alterations (although they can be done right there in the Fitzroy studio free of charge, which is very handy to get that perfect fit). I’ll show you how I style up my new pieces in future posts.

My husband also bagged a couple of items too, one being an oversized jumper which I also bought in a different colour (not deliberately). Luckily we won’t look like we’re twinning when we’re wearing them at the same time, as the same item in a different colourway can look very different when worn!

Did any of these unique styles catch your eye here?

Melbourne Fashion Designer Jude AW17 Launch Soulful Architechture Lookbook by photographer Elisenda Russell

Details:

Fashion Label: JUDE by Jude Ng

Lookbook Photography: Elisenda Sofia Russell Photography

Lookbook Models: Natalie & Konker

Lookbook Styling: TamaraLawrence

Lookbook Make-Up: David P Waterman

View the ‘Soulful Architecture’ lookbook and more photos at JUDE’s Instagram and JUDE’s Facebook

Thank you for stopping by and reading!

If this is your first visit, and you’re wanting to know a little more about this blog, you can read about me here.

Please feel free to comment below (constructive feedback is always welcome), or share this with your friends. You can also subscribe to this blog so you won’t miss a post.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Oh, and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram for new post updates (as it’s takes me awhile to put one together), more regular snippets of my outfits and fashion inspiration, and of course to say hello or share your comments with me.

Have a lovely day and see you again soon!

LQC

LQC style Bisous2