Zippy Zetta: More Than a Dress

Jude Zetta tunic black and white stripe linen dress Melbourne designer

I know it’s currently winter here in Melbourne, but the cold weather has got me thinking of warmer days, so I thought I’d share this summery outfit with you.

Now don’t let these photos fool you, but I’m not a dress-y kinda girl. I don’t think I’m a particularly a girly girl when it comes to my style, although I do like pink and cute cuddly things, and wear the occasional floral.

I’m much more at home in a pair of pants (especially drop crotch ones!) and sneakers. Maybe I’m a tomboy at heart, or maybe I like the comfort and practicality of pants (or maybe it stems from the childhood fear of the boys looking up girls dresses!).

However, I do admit that sometimes it’s easier and more practical to wear a dress…like during summer, and holiday travel in warmer climates, although I do have a few criteria to satisfy:

  • Is it comfortable and easy to wear?
  • Is it long enough (not too short)?
  • Does it have pockets?
  • Is it stylish and versatile?
  • Does it suit me (my style, personality, body shape etc.)?

That’s why I was so excited to add this linen Zetta tunic dress in onyx stripes by JUDE (a local Melbourne independent designer) to my wardrobe!

Jude Zetta tunic black and white stripe linen dress Melbourne designer gold sandals

This dress ticks all my boxes. It’s so versatile – it can be worn on its own, as a pinafore (over a top), tunic (over pants), or unzipped as a duster (or long vest). Not only can it be worn during the summer months, but it’s also great as a trans seasonal piece too.

The linen is breathable and perfect for summer and hot, humid climates – so comfortable on the skin and easy to wear. This is also a great choice if you’re into sustainable fashion and curating a more thoughtful wardrobe.

Check out these BIG pockets!!! I’m not quite sure if I need such big pockets, but they definitely are a feature of this dress. The V-neckline, vertical stripes and zip front makes it a petite friendly style (vertical lines create the illusion of height by drawing the eye up and down), and I just love the quirky style of the mismatched colour blocking and stripes.

This is why I try to support  independent designers where possible, as they put so much thought, creativity and effort into making special pieces I love to wear!

Jude Zetta tunic black and white stripe linen dress Melbourne designer gold sandals

I spent my summer holidays travelling to Malaysia to satisfy foodie cravings and also to visit long time school and university friends. I like to travel lightly (more luggage space for shopping, right?!!), so the only dress I packed with me was this one (nice and roomy to disguise the full belly of yummy food!). These photos were taken in our hotel room before heading out for the day.

This is what I wore for new year’s eve to see in the new year. It was a laid back time hanging out with friends, eating, talking, laughing, reminiscing about our “youth” before adult responsibilities showed up!

Jude Zetta tunic black and white stripe linen dress Melbourne designer gold sandals

My girlfriend told me to “make an effort” (somehow I think she wasn’t a fan of the t-shirt and drop crotch pants I was wearing the first day she saw me), so I chose to wear this dress over a t-shirt (for some colour and added warmth to avoid getting too cold in the chilly indoor airconditioning) and accessorised with a pair of strappy flat gold sandals (which I also packed, for occasions where sneakers may not be appropriate) and gold statement earrings (which I bought during my trip…on sale!). For me, putting on a dress is making an effort!

Jude Zetta tunic black and white stripe linen dress Melbourne designer gold sandals

This is just one way of styling this dress. I love how simple metallic accessories can change the look of an outfit, and made this already stylish dress just that little bit dressier!

Do you wear dresses a lot?

How do you choose the style that’s right for you?

To complete the look for a special occasion, I went to a bit more effort (than just putting on a bit of lipstick for a splash of colour) and played around with the Urban Decay eyeshadow palette another lovely girlfriend gave to me. They’re gorgeous pink colours which I love, and I think I did ok…don’t ask me what I did though! I picked some colours and blended away until I was happy with it (similar approach to when I create jewellery). Well, I must’ve done ok, as my (high maintenance, immaculate-looking) girlfriend was pleased with my efforts (not bad for someone who can’t be bothered  is low maintenance most of the time)!

Urban Decay Naked 3 eyeshadow makeup Maybelline lipcolour pink

These gold statement earrings were a sale purchase during my holidays and I think the simple shape and lines go well with my outfit.

Who else likes to complete their outfit by adding (statement) accessories and a pop of colour with their makeup?

Urban Decay Naked 3 eyeshadow palette makeup

Outfit Details:

Dress: JUDE (size 1, AU 8-10)

TopSportsgirl (size S, past season)

Shoes: Gamins…of course (sample from warehouse sale)

Earrings: Mango

Eye makeup: Urban Decay 

Lip colour: Maybelline Color Whisper in Mad for Magenta

Thank you for stopping by and reading!

If this is your first visit, and you’re wanting to know a little more about this blog, you can read about me here.

Please feel free to comment below (constructive feedback is always welcome), or share this with your friends. You can also subscribe to this blog so you won’t miss a post.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Oh, and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram for new post updates (as it’s takes me awhile to put one together), more regular snippets of my outfits and fashion inspiration, and of course to say hello or share your comments with me.

Have a lovely day and see you again soon!

LQC

LQC style Bisous2